Fashion, Featured
Comments 5

Knickerbockers or Culottes…What Suits You?

culottes

Me wearing my 80s culottes before reading in a fashion page that it is the trouser shape of the season.

For me, dressing up is all about fun. I have fun when planning what to wear. As a child, I never played dressing up. So, in rebellion, I am catching up on lost childhood by playing dressing up every morning with retro or vintage clothes.

In my opinion, vintage or retro fashion are not fads or trends. I have come to realise that these style of clothes make me look and feel fabulous about myself. But, most importantly, I will not and do not look like anyone else. I am very happy looking like me.

Are you wondering why I am telling you what you already know?

Well, last Thursday I had to travel to London Victoria railway station. At my local station, I picked up Metro – a free newspaper. On the packed train, I distractedly flicked through the paper, (I was more interested in the girl opposite me wearing her face) But then, I was stopped in my tracks staring at a particular page.

Yesss, it was the Lifestyle and Fashion page. It had photos of some women wearing trousers similar to what my mum called Knickerbockers. The newspaper called these trousers, culottes. According to Metro, culottes have replaced skinny jeans and we should all go shopping for the perfect pair.

What are we supposed to do with our skinny jeans now?

Sooo, for your information if you are like me and do not follow fashion trends, the fashion industry has spoken yet again; the trouser shape of the season is the Culottes. And culottes look great if worn with high heels pumps.

Ooh, by the way, Victoria Beckham wears hers with a crisp white shirt!

In my uncomplicated head, I wondered what happens if in September, Victoria Beckham or the fashion industry decide culottes are no longer cool and hideous to be seen in.

What then? Another trend? Do we all throw away our culottes and buy the next trendy item of clothing? Maybe back to the skinny jeans?

I express myself in the way I dress. The joy of finding my sense of style took a while but in the end, I got there. Discovering my sense of style is one of the best things I have ever done for myself. The discovery of what suits my body has given me great confidence. My confidence has stopped me from wasting my time, money and energy on what the fashion industry thinks  I should look like.

Please do not get me wrong, I love the art of fashion and Victoria Beckham is a great designer but we must not act “Like sheep to the slaughter.”

So, what exactly am I trying to write or say?

Find your own sense of style. Find what suits you. If you decide you like culottes, get a pair or maybe two but DO NOT let anyone tell you after a few months that the culottes trend is going down. Please be your own trendsetter – just like Victoria!

Yvonne xxx

This entry was posted in: Fashion, Featured

by

At 23, I left Nigeria where I was born and moved to England.In England, I got my Law degree and married John. I like things to be tidy and organised but as a working mum with young daughters, that is hard to achieve. But thanks to John, I have coped so far. If you'd to know more, it's all on my about page.

5 Comments

  1. Dressing up? I miss it so. It used to be a fav pastime of my children and I but nowadays it’s seems there is always so much to do. Enjoy it while you still can.

    Like

  2. I look forward to dressing up when I lose some weight, and I know my husband will be glad to see me taking care of myself. For now though, I’m not comfortable investing in clothing.

    Like

    • I do understand not been comfortable investing in clothes. I did not invest in clothes until I had reached my ideal weight . I invested in belts, necklaces, etc to make my now over-sized clothes look better. You are doing great and it is do able. And I am rooting for you. Have a fab day. Yvonne

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Carolina says

    Totally agree with you. I didn’t even know about the culottes trend, the word makes me laugh because although spelt slightly different it means something else in Spanish. I read your post and then started looking at my wardrobe and found a couple of dresses including my graduation dress, pretty and very me, maybe not the latest trend but after so many years I still can’t get rid of it hoping that maybe one day I have the opportunity and can wear it again… Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

