Culture, Featured
Leave a Comment

The Only Black Residents in Screen 6

During the half term holiday, my family and I were the only black residents in a hamlet called Screen 6. My husband, J is white so he was not a minority in this hamlet.

The hamlet, Screen 6, is a room with an enormous screen.

This room is located inside The Vue Cinema, Croydon. We were there to see an Encore Live broadcast of Treasure Island, a National Theatre Production. For your information, most cinemas now show live screening of music events, classical opera, sport, Bollywood films, etc.

The good news for me is these shows are cheaper than going to see them in theatres.

A bargain I call it.

And as you all know, I love a bargain. This particular bargain means my family and I can enjoy and immerse ourselves in culture. My excuse for these little indulgences?

I am re-educating RealYvonne.

After so many grumbles and whines about tickets prices, The Royal Opera House, National Theatre, Royal Shakespeare Company listened. They all opened a back door for the likes of me. (cinemas). For now, it is just a backdoor. Perhaps, one day, access to front doors might just be granted.

Screen 6b.

Front door, back door, These are side issues. I am just thankful to these companies for giving my daughters and me a taste of this meat pie. A meat pie specially made for a few in our society.

If everything I have said is true, why were we still the only “blacks residents” in Screen 6?

Could it be an African mindset?  Note, I did not say black. I can only speak as an African because I am one.

As a typical Yoruba woman, I did not grow up in a home where classical music was played. I had never heard of this genre of music until my brother who was then living in England got a free Bach CD. Even then, it was not for me.

Too many strings!

Growing up, I enjoyed  Juju and Afro-beat. They are still my first love. I now enjoy  some classical music but only in small doses. Any other amount over small doses, I get wound up. An overdose can me want to fling out the paraphernalia imposing this type of music on me.

Sorry Classic FM.

Up until two years ago, I remained a culture virgin. I kept my culture virginity because I was not in love with culture. My first crack at giving up my virginity to culture was at the Old Vic.  It did not go to plan because I snoozed through the performance.

My excuse? Exhaustion or bored stiff.

But now, I am in love. I am deeply in love with culture. He knows this and he gives me marvelous pleasure. Pleasure that the English or Yoruba languages won’t allow me fluency in. Therefore, I can’t explain.

The pleasure given to me by culture can only be seen and felt in Screen 6.

I want you to enjoy this insane pleasure. Moreover, I am tired of being the only black resident in there. Come join me.

This entry was posted in: Culture, Featured
Tagged with: , ,

by

At 23, I left Nigeria where I was born and moved to England.In England, I got my Law degree and married John. I like things to be tidy and organised but as a working mum with young daughters, that is hard to achieve. But thanks to John, I have coped so far. If you'd to know more, it's all on my about page.

Leave a Reply

