Fashion, Featured
Comment 1

Fashion Victim

Fashion and I are fabulous friends.

We really do get on. Nearly every day, we have breakfast, lunch and dinner together. Fashion makes me feel great about myself. She has talent for making me feel sunny on a not so sunny day.

I love fashion but I am not her prey. I’ll not be ambushed and eaten by her. Fashion represents a very fast paced industry. This industry has its victims. And they are lots of them. Fortunately,I am no longer a victim of  the fashion industry. I am definite you are not too. Or are you?

As London Fashion Week draws to an end, recycled styles in new materials and dyes are touted to fashion victims through different means. (lets call them agents). Agents get paid to persuade susceptible fashion victims that the style they spent an absurd amount on last season is not cool anymore. By the way, fashion agents are paid in dough or freebies.

I am useless to these agents since I am not a fashion victim. I do not follow trends. I follow bargains. Good bargains. If you are a regular follower of my blog, you’ll know RealYvonne likes a bargain. When I go clothes shopping, I look for three things.

  1. Price tag must show a discount. Except my children’s Dr Marten school shoes. (They are never on sale).
  2. Item is practical to wear.
  3. Good quality.

An example of a good bargain is an item reduced from its full price to practically zilch. Plus, this item must not sit in my closet gawking at me. It must be keen to be worn.

Bargain Zara boots.

Bargain Zara boots.

Last Sunday’s Stella Magazine (supplement in The Sunday Telegraph) had a page called, Talk of the town; the pick of the looks from London Fashion Week’s finest. Looking through the pages of the key choices featured, I laughed.

I laughed because the one item I can manage to pay for in a newspaper, I buy every single Sunday is a pair of grey ribbed wool-mix socks, £6.50 by John Lewis.

And by the way, these socks are dearer than a pair of boots I bought last Friday from Zara heavily discounted to £4.99.

Now that is a bargain!

This entry was posted in: Fashion, Featured
Tagged with:

by

At 23, I left Nigeria where I was born and moved to England.In England, I got my Law degree and married John. I like things to be tidy and organised but as a working mum with young daughters, that is hard to achieve. But thanks to John, I have coped so far. If you'd to know more, it's all on my about page.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

