Fashion
Leave a Comment

Treasure Islands

I love charity shops. Should I have said that? Well, I have. And now, it’s out there.

Some years ago, I liked everything “glistening and new”, not so much now. Well, depends on what I am purchasing. An item for covering my “bits and bobs” must and shall be brand new. The reason is obvious, right?

… And shoes.

You see, growing up in a very status conscious Nigerian society, I presumed “glistening and new” was for the well-to-do. Second-hand was for the poor. My thinking has now changed.

I have no specific story to tell you about my first adventure into the world of rooting through some granny cast-offs but all I can say is, if it is good enough for Mary Portas, it is good enough for me.

Charity shops are my new treasure islands.Real leather St Michael skirt

In the last few years, I have seen the insides of a few charity shops, from Barnardo’s at Brixton to British Red Cross at Wallington. Sometimes, I have walked out with a gem in a creased plastic bag, sometimes with nothing.

All in all, I have found some great items especially well-made vintage clothes. These clothes, I know, have histories attached to them. Straightforwardly, I am more interested in how they make me look than their histories.

I am not going to bore you with the ethical argument for recycling clothes since I am not knowledgeable on that. Nor am I going to deceive you by saying, my main purpose is to help raise money for a good cause. What I know for sure is, as a member of a one income family, I have been able to look good and stock up on my wardrobe on a budget.

I love fashion especially vintage fashion. I honestly believe if you are on a limited budget like me, you should give charity shops a chance.

In my blog, I will also be sharing photos of my purchases with you.

This entry was posted in: Fashion
Tagged with:

by

At 23, I left Nigeria where I was born and moved to England.In England, I got my Law degree and married John. I like things to be tidy and organised but as a working mum with young daughters, that is hard to achieve. But thanks to John, I have coped so far. If you'd to know more, it's all on my about page.

Leave a Reply

